CLICK HERE for full WEC Qualifying results

The #14 Porsche of Neel Jani, Romain Dumas and Marc Lieb will start the Bahrain 6 Hours, penultimate round of the 2014 FIA World Endurance Championship, from pole position.

Continuing his pace-setting form from FP2 and FP3, former F1 test driver Jani set the fastest time of the qualifying session to spearhead the combined efforts of Dumas and Lieb, the trio emerging three tenths clear of the competition on the aggregate timesheets.

A second consecutive pole position for the Swiss-German trio - and its third of 2014 -, the pace of the 919 Hybrid in Bahrain suggests the manufacturer is better placed than ever to challenge for its first WEC win, not least because closest rivals Sebastien Buemi and Anthony Davidson are likely to be racing with one eye on the drivers' title.

Even so, the pair look well placed to seal the drivers' title at a relative canter this weekend from the front row, the Toyota drivers needing just a fifth place finish or better to claim the crown with one race to spare.

Porsche and Toyota fill row two as well, with the #20 919 Hybrid of Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard leading the #7 TS040 Hybrid of Alex Wurz, Stephane Sarrazin and Mike Conway.

The only team that can stop Toyota from winning both the drivers' and manufacturers' titles, Audi face an uphill struggle on another desperate weekend for the Ingolstadt marque. With the #1 entry ruled out of qualifying altogether after cracks were discovered in the R18 e-tron's monocoque, the #2 machine of Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler were more than two seconds off the pace in fifth.

In the LMP2 class, the title-contending G-Drive Ligier Nissan and #37 SMP Oreca Nissan start first and second, the latter coming into the weekend with an eight point advantage courtesy of driver Sergey Zlobin.

In the LMGTE classes, Aston Martin dominated both the Pro and Am categories, with Darren Turner and Stefan Mucke well ahead in the former and Kristian Poulsen, Nicki Thiim and David Heinemeier-Hansson heading up the latter.



Loading Comments...